A lesson in love

You tell me that your love
Is different from mine,
And I do not protest.

Yestermorning,
I woke up as a dying tree,
And my leaves wouldn’t stop falling.
I remained still like only a tree can.
How do you love
When all your limbs fall off,
One by one?

Tomorrow,
I will wake up as an hourglass
With time raging a war inside me.
I will try to rip my skin open.
How do you love
When your destiny is trapped,
Inside you?

But today,
I put on my best clothes,
And try to be as human as I can.
I do not want to be this way,
But I have to know,
What is this love,
That you keep
Talking about.

– D

Poems that do not make sense, but do too.

4 thoughts on “A lesson in love

Leave a Reply

